Better planning, more transparency

Everything for everybody at a glance:
Building Information Modeling (BIM)

Successful construction projects call for resilient, comprehensive planning. The DB Group carries out an average of more than 800 construction projects annually – an enormous planning effort. And a great opportunity for making good use of synergies by means of "virtual construction" for everybody concerned. The solution: Building Information Modeling (BIM).

What does BIM stand for?

What does BIM really stand for?

BIM means end-to-end digitization of all relevant building information items from planning through realization. The data are depicted as a virtual building model – including all quantities, requirements lists and development steps along the timeline. BIM thus creates a harmonized data basis accessible for everybody involved in the construction process – from planning via purchasing to realization and even beyond, during operation of the constructed facilities.

BIM is also referred to as "5D modeling": the visually compelling depiction as a 3D model is complemented by the two additional dimensions of "time" and "costs".

Important benefits

Important benefits for all stakeholders

Top direct benefits include transparency and interconnectivity: timelines, costs and risks can be defined more easily, earlier and more precisely, and they can be seamlessly controlled.

Reliability and transparency in terms of costs and deadlines as well as efficiency will increase – and everybody will benefit from it.

The future belongs to BIM

The future belongs to BIM

The German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) presented a plan by stages in late 2015 for introducing BIM. In particular – and hence with top relevance for the DB Group – with regard to infrastructural construction and infrastructure-related building construction.

DB Group and BIM

DB Group and BIM

The DB Group is right at the forefront of implementing BIM: the commitment for rolling out BIM across the entire group by 2020 is in effect. This calls for comprehensive qualification – which DB Training has already started.

DB Group and BIM

Digital building

Duration: 3:00 min.

Changes made easy

Construction: first virtually, then for real

Traditional construction planning starts with a CAD design. The drafts are then submitted to the authorities.

Traditional planning takes a lot of effort
In order to compile a cost calculation, the plans serve as the basis for determining the quantities needed. In case of changes in the plan – rule rather than exception – the quantity list has to be adapted. Everybody concerned will then receive the updated plans and quantities, which they in turn have to check internally and channel into their own documentation. All this causes a tremendous amount of coordination and workload. BIM reduces this amount substantially.

BIM: structured processes, clear answers
With BIM, a planning specialist will carry out changes at the project model. These changes are directly accessible right away for all concerned, both as a drawing and as data. Quantities serving as basis for cost calculation are automatically adjusted: the interlinking immediately shows the effect on the costs.

Automatically include changes
Purchasing will benefit, too: the adjusted quantity requirements clearly state the ramifications on the construction project. Do we need more steel or less? More gravel or less? Will quality change? Will the time of delivery shift? BIM provides clear-cut answers for these and further questions.

With BIM, all planning data are available for everybody concerned – internally and externally. That means: data quality remains intact during each phase of the project. All have access at any time to one and the same data source. This releases synergies.

Benefits for project progress

Saving time thanks to precise planning

BIM with its powerful 5D modeling (i.e. its power to visualise projects including quantities and cost over time) represents a real planning revolution. In order to harness the power of this development, the pre-planning phase needs to get even more thorough. This may prolong the planning phase. But over the course of an entire project, BIM brings about significant time savings – and has already led to cost savings of up to 30% in numerous engineering projects.

Solving problems before they occur

Now, planning discrepancies become obvious already while still at the computer, thanks to so-called "clash detection". Instead of noticing an issue as late as on the construction site and then having to act under deadline pressure and at high expense, with BIM the plan can be adjusted at an early stage so as to avoid any real problems from occurring in the first place. Construction on-site thus runs much more smoothly.

Faster permissions possible

With regard to planning approvals and permits, BIM also brings about numerous benefits. Right now it may well take years before larger construction projects take all the hurdles. With BIM, not only the outcome, but also all preceding construction phases can be visualised as model images. All stakeholders thus get a clear picture of how the site will look like and what progress will be made when.

Even preservationists, concerned residents and special interest groups can be informed and may even be convinced faster and more effectively thanks to BIM.

BIM qualification is already underway

DB Training performance

BIM qualification has already started. When you regard BIM as "5D modeling", then the two dimensions "time" and "cost" are represented by the project control system iTWO. DB Training already qualified all 6,000 employees concerned in handling the new iTWO.

Comprehensive need for qualification
A first bout of qualifications on the entire BIM functionality has already taken place as well: 69 project leaders with DB Station & Service have already passed the BIM qualification. These qualifications will be continued in 2017, starting with another 300 project leaders. There is extensive demand: in 2017, already nine big DB Netz pilot projects will be carried out with BIM, and more than 100 smaller projects at DB Station & Service. By 2020, all 6,000 persons concerned are to have successfully passed BIM qualification.

Enquiry at the divisions
Currently (November 2016), an enquiry at the divisions is underway. The goal is to organise the qualification demand across divisions in order to carry out the trainings as efficiently and cost-effectively as possible. In addition, DB Training will prepare specific qualification measures for individual target groups within the DB Group.

Opportunity for external partners
But not only there: BIM will only be able to deploy its full potential once external partners – planners, suppliers, construction companies – also work with BIM. That's why DB Training will also qualify such partners upon demand. One thing is clear already: for everyone doing construction projects with and for the DB Group, this will be absolutely key.

DB Group's construction partners are hence invited to discuss their qualification needs with DB Training – so that individual needs can be answered.

Modern learning for modern constructing

Already here today: "Blended Learning"

DB Training carried out the first wave of BIM qualifications as a one-day, in-class workshop upon clients' request. In the future, however, a proprietary Blended Learning concept will be conceived and conducted, offering more varied and more sustainable learning.

Project leaders, technical QA officers, commissioning officers and work domain heads for the regional construction areas constitute particular focus groups. They are stationed all across Germany – another good reason for decreasing the amount of in-class workshops and increasing the amount of self-conducted learning at one's own workplace instead.

What the Blended Learning concept consists of
The learning process starts with a kick-off seminar providing joint preparation for the subsequent two self-conducted learning phases where participants build and increase their knowledge about BIM. By means of exercises, transfer assignments and intensive exchange of experiences in an activity- and practice-oriented workshop, the participants acquire the necessary confidence for action. During the entire learning process, the learners are supported by a learning and training facilitator.

The individual modules

  • Pre-phase, invitation and first questions directed to the learners, supported by the learning and training facilitator
  • Introduction / kick-off webinar
  • First web-based self-learning phase
  • Webinar
  • Second web-based self-learning phase
  • Practice workshop and conclusion
  • During the entire period, regular controls of learning progress and results make sure the goal is achieved

Getting to know BIM methodology

During the entire training time, the learners can use the online learning management system for exchange among themselves, to discuss topics in the forum, and to contact the learning and training facilitator for support.

The goal: The participants are to get to know the entire BIM methodology and be able to use it in their daily work with full confidence.

Building Information Modeling (BIM) not only has a different name than construction used to have. It also means learning differently. So please contact DB Training!

Contact

How can we help you?

Just contact us. We'll be happy to provide our support.

* Mandatory field.

Also interesting

Read more

Digital training concepts

Lifelong learning and continuing education are a must for everyone today. Modern, digital training concepts convey knowledge sustainably with the help of a broad range of media, from educational films through learning platforms to Blended Learning.

Traindriver Training

Train driver training of the German Railway sets international standards. DB Training offers bespoke solutions in order to allow clients in the whole world to experience the best learning experience possible – or supports them in developing their own training.

Building Information Modeling

Building Information Modeling | DB Training

Building Information Modeling

Building Information Modeling | DB Training

Unfallbetreuung

DB Training unterstützt das Notfallmanagement der Deutschen Bahn bei der Bewältigung psychologischer Folgen bei Betroffenen nach Unfällen. Fachkundig und mit Fingerspitzengefühl werden Betroffene unterstützt und Behörden im Auftrag des DB Konzerns beraten.

The learning worlds of the DB.

Exciting topics, outstanding projects, and new perspectives for a shared learning culture in the DB group and the railway sector.

Wege zum neuen Job.

So schaffen Sie den Wiedereinstieg: Mit den geförderten Qualifizierungsangeboten von DB Training zurück in den Job. 20 verschiedene Qualifizierungen für jedes Alter. AZAV-zertifiziert und kostenfrei mit dem Bildungsgutschein der Bundesagentur, Jobcenter und Rentenversicherung.

Digital training concepts

Lifelong learning and continuing education are a must for everyone today. Modern, digital training concepts convey knowledge sustainably with the help of a broad range of media, from educational films through learning platforms to Blended Learning.
Back to top

Bessere Planung, mehr Transparenz

Alles für alle auf einen Blick:
Building Information Modeling (BIM)

Erfolgreiche Bauprojekte verlangen belastbare, umfangreiche Planung. Der DB Konzern betreibt durchschnittlich mehr als 800 Bauvorhaben pro Jahr – ein enormer Planungsaufwand. Und eine große Chance für Synergien durch „virtuelles Bauen“ als Planungsgrundlage für alle Beteiligten. Die Lösung heißt: Building Information Modeling (BIM).

Was bedeutet BIM?

BIM bezeichnet die durchgängige Digitalisierung aller planungs- und realisierungsrelevanten Bauwerksinformationen. Dargestellt werden die Daten als virtuelles Bauwerksmodell – inklusive aller Mengen, Bedarfslisten und Entwicklungsschritte im Zeitverlauf. BIM schafft damit eine einheitliche Datenbasis, auf die alle zugreifen können, die am Bau beteiligt sind – von der Planung über die Beschaffung bis zur Ausführung und darüber hinaus in der Phase des Betriebs der Anlagen.

BIM wird auch als „5D-Modellierung“ bezeichnet: Zur anschaulichen Darstellung als 3D-Modell kommen noch die Dimensionen „Zeit“ und „Kosten“ hinzu.

Wichtige Vorteile

Zu den direkten Vorteilen gehören vor allem Transparenz und Vernetzung: Zeitpläne, Kosten und Risiken können einfacher, früher und präziser ermittelt und lückenlos kontrolliert werden.

Kostenwahrheit, Kostentransparenz, Effizienz und Termintreue steigen – zum Vorteil aller Beteiligten.

BIM gehört die Zukunft

Das Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) hat Ende 2015 einen Stufenplan für die Einführung von BIM vorgelegt. Vor allem – und damit relevant für den DB Konzern – im Hinblick auf Infrastrukturbau und infrastrukturbezogenen Hochbau.

DB Konzern und BIM

Der DB Konzern ist bei der Umsetzung von BIM ganz vorne mit dabei: Es gilt die Selbstverpflichtung der konzernweiten Einführung von BIM bis 2020. Damit einher geht ein umfassender Qualifizierungsbedarf – DB Training hat damit bereits begonnen.

Deutsche Bahn und BIM

Digitales Bauen

Dauer: 3:00 Min.

Änderungen leicht gemacht

Bauen: erst virtuell, dann real

Bei einer herkömmlichen Bauplanung entsteht der Entwurf als Zeichnung im CAD-System. Die Pläne werden anschließend dann u. a. den Behörden vorgelegt.

Herkömmliche Planung ist aufwendig
Zur Kostenkalkulation wird auf Grundlage dieser Pläne eine Mengenermittlung erstellt. Bei Änderungen im Plan – eher die Regel als die Ausnahme – muss die Mengenermittlung angeglichen werden. Alle Betroffenen erhalten aktualisierte Pläne und Mengen und müssen diese intern abgleichen und in die eigenen Unterlagen übernehmen. Das alles verursacht einen großen Koordinierungs- und Arbeitsaufwand. BIM reduziert diesen Aufwand erheblich.

BIM: strukturierte Prozesse, klare Antworten
Mit BIM nimmt der Fachplaner Änderungen am Projektmodell vor. Diese Änderungen sind für alle Beteiligten sowohl als Zeichnung als auch als Daten direkt verfügbar. Mengen als Grundlage zur Kostenkalkulation werden automatisch angeglichen: In der Verknüpfung sieht man die unmittelbare Auswirkung auf die Kosten.

Änderungen automatisch berücksichtigen
Auch die Beschaffung profitiert davon: Aus dem angepassten Mengenbedarf wird direkt klar, welche Auswirkungen das auf die Baumaterialien hat. Ist mehr oder weniger Stahl oder Schotter erforderlich? Verändert sich die Qualität? Verschiebt sich der Zeitpunkt der Anlieferung? BIM gibt klare Antworten auf diese und alle weiteren Fragen.

Mit BIM stehen sämtliche Planungsdaten allen Beteiligten zur Verfügung – intern wie extern. Das bedeutet: Die Datenqualität bleibt in jeder Phase des Projekts erhalten. Alle haben jederzeit Zugriff auf ein- und dieselbe Datenquelle. Das setzt Synergien frei.

Vorteile für den Projektverlauf

Zeitersparnis durch präzise Planung

BIM mit seiner leistungsstarken 5D-Modellierung (also Visualisierung inklusive Mengen und Kosten im Zeitverlauf) bedeutet eine Revolution in der Planung. Um die Kraft dieser Entwicklung auf die Schiene zu bringen, muss die Vorplanung noch gründlicher werden. Das kann die Planungsphase verlängern. Insgesamt führt BIM allerdings zu erheblichen Einsparungen an Zeit – und hat im Hochbau in vielen Projekten Kosteneinsparungen bis zu 30 % ermöglicht.

Probleme lösen, bevor sie auftreten

Denn jetzt werden schon am Computer Planungsdifferenzen deutlich, durch die sogenannte „Clash Detection“. Anstatt das Problem erst auf der Baustelle zu bemerken und dann kostspielig und unter Zeitdruck beheben zu müssen, kann bereits der Plan so angepasst werden, dass es erst gar nicht zu realen Problemen kommt. Umso glatter läuft das Bauen vor Ort.

Schnellere Genehmigungen möglich

Auch bei Planfeststellung und Genehmigungen bietet BIM zahlreiche Vorteile. Derzeit kann es Jahre dauern, bis größere Bauprojekte alle Hürden genommen haben. Mit BIM lassen sich nicht nur das fertige Objekt, sondern auch alle unterschiedlichen Bauphasen im Modell anschaulich darstellen. Alle Beteiligten haben klar vor Augen, wie der Bau aussehen wird und welche Fortschritte es wann gibt.

Selbst Denkmalschützer, besorgte Anwohner und spezielle Interessengruppen lassen sich mit BIM schneller und wirksamer informieren und überzeugen.

Die Qualifizierung für BIM läuft bereits

Die Leistungen von DB Training

Die Qualifizierung für BIM hat bereits begonnen. Wenn man BIM als „5D-Modellierung“ auffasst, dann werden die beiden Dimensionen „Zeit“ und „Kosten“ über das Projektsteuerungssystem iTWO abgebildet. DB Training hat bereits alle rund 6.000 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter im Umgang mit dem neuen iTWO qualifiziert.

Umfassender Qualifizierungsbedarf
Auch für den gesamten Funktionsumfang von BIM hat bereits die erste Qualifizierungsaktion stattgefunden: 69 Projektleiter von DB Station & Service haben die BIM-Qualifikation bereits durchlaufen. Die Qualifizierungen werden 2017 fortgesetzt, zunächst mit weiteren 300 Projektleitern. Der Bedarf ist hoch: Schon in 2017 werden neun große Pilotprojekte bei DB Netz mit BIM durchgeführt und über 100 kleinere Projekte bei DB Station & Service. Bis 2020 sollen dann alle rund 6.000 Betroffenen die BIM-Qualifizierung erfolgreich durchlaufen haben.

Erhebung bei den Geschäftsfeldern
Aktuell (November 2016) läuft die Bedarfserhebung bei den Geschäftsfeldern. Ziel ist, den Qualifizierungsbedarf geschäftsfeldübergreifend zu organisieren, um die Trainings so effizient und kostensparend wie möglich durchzuführen. Zusätzlich wird DB Training spezielle Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen für einzelne Zielgruppen im DB Konzern erarbeiten.

Chance für externe Partner
Aber nicht nur dort: BIM kann sein volles Potenzial erst dann entfalten, wenn externe Partner – Planer, Lieferanten, Bauunternehmen – ebenfalls mit BIM arbeiten. Deshalb wird DB Training auf Wunsch auch diese externen Partner qualifizieren. Schon jetzt ist klar: Für alle, die mit dem DB Konzern Bauprojekte ausführen, wird das ein absolutes Schlüsselkriterium sein.

Gerne können die Bau-Partner des DB Konzerns ihren Qualifizierungsbedarf mit DB Training besprechen – damit auf individuelle Gegebenheiten eingegangen werden kann.

Modernes Lernen für modernes Bauen

Heute schon „Blended Learning“

DB Training hat die erste Welle der BIM-Qualifizierung auf Kundenwunsch als eintägige Präsenzveranstaltung durchgeführt. In Zukunft soll aber über ein eigens erstelltes Blended-Learning-Konzept noch vielfältigeres und nachhaltigeres Lernen möglich sein.

Im Fokus stehen besonders Projektleiter, technische Qualitätsbeauftragte, Inbetriebnahmeverantwortliche und Arbeitsgebietsleiter der regionalen Baubereiche. Deren Arbeitsstandorte sind über ganz Deutschland verteilt – auch das spricht dafür, den Anteil an Präsenzveranstaltungen zurückzufahren und verstärkt auf selbst gesteuertes Lernen am Arbeitsplatz zu setzen.

Daraus besteht das Blended-Learning-Konzept
Der Lernprozess startet mit einem Kick-off-Webinar zur gemeinsamen Vorbereitung der zwei Selbstlernphasen, in denen die Teilnehmer selbst gesteuert ihr Wissen zum Thema BIM aufbauen. Durch Übungen, Transferaufgaben und einen intensiven Erfahrungsaustausch in einem handlungs- und praxisorientierten Workshop bauen die Teilnehmer die nötige Handlungssicherheit auf. Die Lernenden werden über den gesamten Lernprozess durch einen Lernbegleiter unterstützt.

Die Module im Einzelnen

  • Vorphase, Einladung und erste Fragen an die Lernenden mit Unterstützung durch den Lernbegleiter
  • Einführung / Kick-off-Webinar
  • Erste webbasierte Selbstlernphase
  • Webinar
  • Zweite webbasierte Selbstlernphase
  • Praxisworkshop und Abschluss
  • Über den gesamten Zeitraum stellen regelmäßige Lernerfolgskontrollen die Zielerreichung sicher

BIM-Methodik kennenlernen

Die Lernenden können sich während der gesamten Zeit der Bildungsmaßnahme über das Lernmanagementsystem austauschen, im Forum Themen diskutieren und den Lernbegleiter zur Unterstützung kontaktieren.

Das Ziel: Die Teilnehmer sollen die gesamte BIM-Methodik kennenlernen und in ihrer täglichen Arbeit handlungssicher nutzen können.
 

Building Information Modelling (BIM) heißt nicht nur anders bauen als bisher. Es heißt auch anders lernen als bisher. Wenden Sie sich daher an DB Training!

Kontakt

Wie können wir Ihnen helfen?

Treten Sie mit uns in Kontakt. Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter.

* Pflichtfeld.

Auch interessant

Mehr von DB Training

Digitale Lernkonzepte

Lebenslanges Lernen und Weiterbildung im Unternehmen sind heute ein Muss für alle. Moderne, digitale Lernkonzepte vermitteln mit Hilfe eines breiten Medienspektrums von Lernfilmen über Lernplattformen und Blended Learning nachhaltig Wissen an die Lernenden.

Triebfahrzeugführer-Ausbildung

Die Lokführerausbildung der Deutschen Bahn setzt international Standards. DB Training bietet maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für die bestmögliche Lernerfahrung für Kunden auf der ganzen Welt – oder unterstützt und berät sie beim Aufbau der eigenen Ausbildung.

Unfallbetreuung

DB Training unterstützt das Notfallmanagement der Deutschen Bahn bei der Bewältigung psychologischer Folgen bei Betroffenen nach Unfällen. Fachkundig und mit Fingerspitzengefühl werden Betroffene unterstützt und Behörden im Auftrag des DB Konzerns beraten.

Lernwelten im DB Konzern

Spannende Themen, herausragende Projekte und neue Perspektiven für eine gemeinsame Lernkultur im DB Konzern und dem Bahnsektor.

DB Training. Vor Ort.

DB Training. Vor Ort. | Neue Wege gehen.

Exzellenz mit Lean Management

Lean Management stands for streamlined efficiency. DB Training consults and qualifies in thinking principles, methods, and processes.

Digitale Lernkonzepte

Lebenslanges Lernen und Weiterbildung im Unternehmen sind heute ein Muss für alle. Moderne, digitale Lernkonzepte vermitteln mit Hilfe eines breiten Medienspektrums von Lernfilmen über Lernplattformen und Blended Learning nachhaltig Wissen an die Lernenden.